User-agent: * Allow: /

Apr 27, 2015

Coal Chamber – Rivals

(Napalm Records)

After a nasty breakup on stage in 2002 Coal Chamber is back with a vengeance. Rivals, the group’s 4th release (out on May 22nd), finds the L.A. based quartet taking its dark, nü-metal sound further – displaying a maturity and growth while maintaining Coal Chamber’s core sound.

The re-formed band consists of vocalist Dez Fafara, guitarist Meegs Rascon, bassit Nadja Peulen, and drummer Mikey Cox. This groove ‘n’ gouge unit doesn’t hold back as the tracks that make up this disc are more ominous and aggressive than days past. Right from the get-go the group comes at you hard with the fist clenching rage of “I.O.U. Nothing.” From there it is maximum mayhem where bludgeoning riffs collide with textural atmospheres, heavy beats, and menacing vocals. Standouts include: “Suffer in Silence (featuring Ministry’s Al Jourgensen), “Another Nail in the Coffin,” Over My Head,” and “Fade Away (Karma Never Forgets).”

Without a doubt, Rivals is Coal Chamber’s best release to date. It’s a solid album from beginning to end that will undoubtedly influence the next generation of nü-metal. – NIN


Related Posts with Thumbnails