User-agent: * Allow: /

Dec 2, 2009

CD Review: Massive Attack – Splitting the Atom EP

Massive Attack – Splitting the Atom EP
(Virgin/EMI) Caution: proceed carefully

In order to appease fans before their next full-length CD hits the shelves Massive Attack has unleashed a four song EP titled Splitting the Atom. Comprised of two new tracks and two new remixes the album is a preview of the critically acclaimed unit's forthcoming release. Dark and cinematic in nature the title track is classic Massive Attack through and through. "Pray for Rain" features Tunde Adebimpe's (TV On The Radio) stony vocals over tribal drums and ominous pianos. The ethereal and mystical "Bulletproof Love" was remixed by Christoff Berg and also features Elbow's Guy Garvey. "Psyche" (remixed by Van Rivers and The Subliminal Kid) feature's Martina Topley-Bird's spooky vocals over atmospheric soundscapes. Sadly, Splitting the Atom isn't something to get overly excited about. Here's hoping that Robert Del Naja (aka 3D) and Grant “Daddy G” Marshall have something better up their sleeve.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails